Deep in the Heart is now a completed chapter.  It’s been in operation since 2006, and has evolved from a blog on issues related to the Southern Baptist Convention and the Baptist General Convention of Texas, to a more general reflection on Christian community and church at large.  I have remained involved in ministries connected to the Southern Baptist Convention, but haven’t attended an SBC church on a regular basis since moving to Pennsylvania in 2010.

The title of the blog, “Deep in the Heart” was borrowed from Texas origins.  But I’m not a native Texan, and unless God has plans that he hasn’t yet revealed to me, I’m not planning to return there.  “Back East” now, I like it here and I’m not planning on leaving.

So I’m now at Cacoethis Scribendi, Latin for “compelled to write.”

In Philippians 2:12, Paul says to “work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.”  I understand that eternal life is a gift from God that is the result of grace, through faith in the sacrifice of Jesus, the Christ.  The key word is eternal.  It starts when we come to this initial understanding, but it is also a process that continues over the course of our entire life.  Past experiences aren’t supposed to be conclusions, they are supposed to be places from which we move forward, and make progress, but sometimes they prevent us from seeing just how deep, how wide, and how broad faith in God can be.  I once placed a lot of value on distinctives which I was taught, and believed, were truths that set my brand of Christian faith apart from others, and made us “closer” to the truth than others.  What I’ve discovered through experience is that as God revealed himself and his will through the writers of his word, he didn’t intend for us to develop distinct doctrine to set us apart, but community and fellowship to unite us around faith in Christ, and serve God by serving others.

Please join me on this journey,

http://cacoethisscribendiblog.wordpress.com

 

About LS

I'm 56, happily married for 25 years, B.A., M.A., career educator with experience in education as a teacher and administrator, native Arizonan living in Pennsylvania, working on a PhD and a big fan of the Arizona Wildcats, mainly in football and basketball.

Comments are closed.