This blog came into existence during a time when I was serving on the staff of a Southern Baptist church as a Christian discipleship pastor and general church administrator.  My job transitioned from that, to more of an interim pastor/administrator role during a period of more than two years following the resignation of the pastor.  I became very involved in Texas Baptist, and Southern Baptist convention issues, and joined in with a group of individuals who were contributing to the shaping of denominational opinion through blogging.

All of that came to a rather abrupt end as the opportunity came for me to get back into Christian school education, and serve as a head administrator of a school in Pennsylvania.  I’m still interested in Baptist churches, conventions, and their ministry, and I’m still involved with them when it comes to mission service and commitment.  I still enjoy conversation with the friends I met during those blogging and convention attending years,  and we had a lot in common when it came to our concern for, and support of Baptist ministries and churches, even though we live and work in different places, and maybe don’t always agree on politics.

So for a while now, you’ve probably noticed that I haven’t posted as much, and the themes are different.  I get interesting responses, especially when it comes to political issues, which are the hot buttons right now.  I open my computer and log in, and see thirty views have happened in just a few hours after a post, many of whom leave comments, and with my rules, many comments are either edited completely or they are not shared, not because I disagree, but because I know I have readers who are current and former students, and individuals in churches where I’ve lived and served, and I want to be faithful to my values and standards.

I’m giving a name change some real consideration.  I haven’t put up a lot of political posts here in the past, but I like to talk politics.  I taught high school students social studies, including Government and Economics and American History for years, and I have a graduate degree in the field, so, well, why not?  The name of the blog came from living in Texas, and is kind of a play on both the source of my writing, and a song that is very well known and associated with that part of the country.  Then again, I’ve been writing her for about 10 years, so perhaps a change of name now isn’t necessary.  At any rate, I hope if you’ve been reading, you continue, and you comment every now and then.  If the name changes, I’ll leave a link and a way to find the new address.

About LS

I'm 56, happily married for 25 years, B.A., M.A., career educator with experience in education as a teacher and administrator, native Arizonan living in Pennsylvania, working on a PhD and a big fan of the Arizona Wildcats, mainly in football and basketball.

Comments are closed.