It’s been a long year.  From last July to this one, so many things have happened, that it has been really difficult to stop and reflect.  I’ve neglected this journal, though people still stop by to read what’s posted here.  Thank you for doing that.  That is what makes doing this so much fun.

July of 2010 was probably the busiest month of my entire life.  On top of finishing up a job that I’d had for five years, and directing the activities of a mission trip involving more than 200 people, I had a date with a moving truck toward the end of the month.  It took four days to pack, load the truck, drive from Houston to Pittsburgh, and unload the truck.  The unloading happened on Sunday afternoon.  I started to work at my new job, on an educational calendar, on Monday.  I hit the ground running, interviewing candidates for jobs that needed to be filled, and new students whose families wanted them in our school.  Then there was the school year, fall sports, fall colors, Thanksgiving and before I knew it, Christmas.  After a long winter, with lots of snow, it was spring, then summer, then graduation and then the mission trip rolled around again.  Whew! 

I am now left with ten days of vacation time.  Other than spring break, when we spent a few days around Washington, D.C., and some time at conferences, we haven’t enjoyed being so close to so much.  So those ten days, between now and mid-August, will be spent enjoying some things like Niagara Falls, Gettysburg, New York City and Philadelphia.  I’m looking forward to it, not only because those are places and things I have wanted to see all of my life, but because it is a break from this very busy year.  The work is where it should be.  We’ll be ready for the upcoming school year and it won’t be the marathon it was last year.  So I can enjoy the time away. 

And I’ll be back here a lot more often.

About LS

I'm 56, happily married for 25 years, B.A., M.A., career educator with experience in education as a teacher and administrator, native Arizonan living in Pennsylvania, working on a PhD and a big fan of the Arizona Wildcats, mainly in football and basketball.

Comments are closed.