Ken Coffee made a point in a comment on the previous post regarding our church’s switch of affiliation from BGCT to SBTC related to the bylaw and constitutional amendment changes I was proposing to move at the convention in Houston in a couple of weeks.  Though our church will be considered a cooperating BGCT church through December 31, and would be eligible for messengers to the convention, it will not elect or send messengers to the 2009 BGCT annual meeting.  As a result, I would not consider it proper to make motions affecting the future of the BGCT.

There is no “group” involved in this, at least, not to my knowledge.  I’ve had many supportive emails, notes and comments, and volunteers to bring a second to the motions, and I appreciate that.  Those individuals have already been notified that I will not be bringing the motions.  If someone else wants to carry that banner, and feels that some kind of limitations are necessary to broaden the leadership tent, and expand the input from the BGCT’s churches, they are welcome to copy the amendments I proposed, which are published elsewhere on this blog, or come up with their own proposals. 

Thanks to everyone who was an encouragement to me in this effort.  The message was read and heard in Dallas, and that’s not bad when you are working with email, text messaging, a blog and some phone calls.  I did make a little bit of an investment in postage, too, but from the response I received, it is encouraging to know that one person can make a difference, and that not everything we do in Baptist life has to be politically driven.

About LS

I'm 56, happily married for 25 years, B.A., M.A., career educator with experience in education as a teacher and administrator, native Arizonan living in Pennsylvania, working on a PhD and a big fan of the Arizona Wildcats, mainly in football and basketball.

3 responses

  1. […] has announced via his blog Deep in the Heart that he will not be making these restrictive […]

  2. Ken Coffee says:

    Lee, your decision is one of inegrity, which is consistant with your character.

  3. spiritualsamurai says:

    Lee,

    You did your best. I am glad you could be happy with the SBT. I never would be able to do that. I am not blogging on the Mess that is the BGCT anymore, but I will go down with the ship.

    Peace….