http://www.swbts.edu/dashboard.cfm?audioToPlay=chapel/chapel101508_fd1.mp3&fdi=_fd1

I haven’t seen much in the way of blogging commentary on Dr. Everett’s message in Southwestern Seminary’s chapel service last week.  Had I not been in Chicago at the Willow Creek conference last week, I would have driven to Ft. Worth to be there. 

In light of the relationship that has developed between the BGCT and Southwestern in recent years, and some of the rhetoric that has come out, it was quite gracious of Dr. Patterson to issue the invitation to the new BGCT executive director.  Dr. Everett’s message, which addressed the need for healing in relationships, and in which he alluded to the healing that the Baptist family needed, was equally as gracious. 

At some point, when an event takes place that brings Baptists from both sides of the “controversy” together, I am hoping that a leader will step up, take the opportunity, and make a visible extension of the hand of cooperation.  As Dr. Everett noted in his sermon, forgiveness seems impossible when the debt seems to be so huge, and as long as people continue to hang on to their lengthy list of grievances, it isn’t going to happen.  But the provision is made, through forgiveness, to let go of the list and the bitterness that goes along with it, and start acting like family again.  I wish I could have seen the faces of those in his audience.  I could hear many amens in agreement.  Perhaps this was not the exact moment, but it is clear that the relationship between the seminary and the BGCT is improving.  I am looking forward to next month’s BGCT, when visiting the Southwestern booth will be an option once again.

About LS

I'm 56, happily married for 25 years, B.A., M.A., career educator with experience in education as a teacher and administrator, native Arizonan living in Pennsylvania, working on a PhD and a big fan of the Arizona Wildcats, mainly in football and basketball.

2 responses

  1. David Lowrie says:

    Lee,

    Thanks for noting this significant event in Baptist life. I commend Dr. Patterson and Dr. Everett for reaching out to each other. I don’t know if this is the end of the “cold war” between Southwestern and the Baptist General Convention of Texas, but it is good step in the right direction.

    I agree with you that Dr. Everett’s chosen text and topic were inspired. I believe a good dose of “forgiveness” could do wonders for the relationships between many in our fractured extended family. Sadly there is much to forgive, but nothing that cannot be forgiven and learned from. I believe we can forgive and still learn from the past.

    I too look forward to seeing the SWBTS booth back at the convention. I have longed for this move, and I commend those on both sides who made it happen.

    Things are happening these days that some would have never thought would happen. God is good.

    See you in Fort Worth.

    David Lowrie

  2. Ken Coffee says:

    I agtree that a ghood dose of forgiveness is the right tonic. The problem in that extension of grace is that often each one believes he and only he is due an apology, which must precede any forgiveness. Only if each side decides to accept and own his part of the blame will the road be open to forgiveness. When I see that start to happen, I will have hope. I certainly believe God is able to bring us together, but a necessary step is pro-SBC people being willing to say “I’m sorry”, and pro-BGCT people being will to say “I’m sorry.” I am afraid many on both sides will read this and say, “Not in my lifetime.” Forgive me for my fatalistic attitude.