I believe it is a sign of the indwelling Spirit of God in the life of a believer, the desire to serve Jesus by serving others in his name.  Look at the number of volunteers working through Southern Baptist disaster relief in response to the recent Hurricanes Gustav and Ike. 

http://www.namb.net/site/c.9qKILUOzEpH/b.224451/#currentresponses

I will echo what others have said, this is something that Southern Baptists do well. 

I consider myself blessed that I do not have to take refuge in a shelter as a result of this hurricane.  But if I did, I would want to be somewhere with an experienced Baptist disaster relief team.  Through this media, I say a heartfelt “Thank you for coming” and my prayers are with you as you serve Jesus by serving others. 

There are over 1,500 volunteers from 20 state conventions preparing thousands of meals, along with shower units, chainsaw units, laundry units and communication units.  This includes units from both the Baptist General Convention of Texas and the Southern Baptists of Texas Convention.  The speed and efficiency with which these units are dispatched is amazing. 

There has been some television coverage related to these efforts.  Yesterday, I saw a station interview a unit from Florida set up to provide meals in Texas City, in Galveston County, one of the hardest hit areas. 

May God multiply each personal touch, as this ministry goes forward.

About LS

I'm 56, happily married for 25 years, B.A., M.A., career educator with experience in education as a teacher and administrator, native Arizonan living in Pennsylvania, working on a PhD and a big fan of the Arizona Wildcats, mainly in football and basketball.

2 responses

  1. David R. Brumbelow says:

    Lee,
    Amen to your posts on Hurricane Ike. Glad you weathered the storm. Isn’t it interesting how so many differences fade when we’re faced with disaster.
    I don’t have a blog, but a few of my thoughts about going through Hurricane Ike can be found at

    http://selahvtoday.typepad.com/

    May God bless you and your church during this time. Anyway I can help, let me know.
    David R. Brumbelow
    nsbc77562@LWOL.com

  2. KGray says:

    We still have a feeding unit in Lufkin. Today they are expanding the output to include evacuees who are NOT in shelters. What a wonderful testimony.