This one is personal.

Early last Wednesday morning, I was awakened shortly after 2:30 a.m. with severe chills and nausea.  After getting a little bit of nourishment and water, and downing some advil, by noon I was feeling much better, and actually made it to lead the prayer meeting at church Wednesday evening.  By Friday, when I finally got in to see the doctor, everything was pretty much back to normal except for a little soreness in my lower left leg.  I attributed that to having been laying around resting for a while.

The pain in the leg worsened, waking me up early Saturday morning.  While trying to find a comfortable way to sit, and waiting for advil to kick in again, I was looking at possible diagnoses for the symptoms on a website.  It looked like I may have had a blood clot, so my wife took me to the emergency room.  No blood clot, thankfully, but a bacterial infection, cellulitis, had settled in the tissue around my achilles tendon.  It is painful, prevents me from walking well, and I had to preach sitting on a stool Sunday morning.  We are fighting this with antibiotics and anti-inflammatory drugs.  It is serious, and I would be very grateful for your prayers.  I’m hoping to be back in the office tomorrow if possible, though I am still moving slowly. 

The incubation period for this kind of infection is about two weeks, which means that the change of environment involved in my participation in a World Changers project earlier this month is probably where I picked this up.  Gotta remember to wear those flip flops in the shower. 

Thanks for the prayers.

About LS

I'm 56, happily married for 25 years, B.A., M.A., career educator with experience in education as a teacher and administrator, native Arizonan living in Pennsylvania, working on a PhD and a big fan of the Arizona Wildcats, mainly in football and basketball.

6 responses

  1. Ken Coffee says:

    Lee, be very careful. G well soon and know that many of us will pray for you.

  2. Camey says:

    You are being prayed for. Thank you for the privilege.

  3. Kevin Bussey says:

    I pray you are feeling better.

  4. Ted says:

    Ouch! Sorry. Praying for you. Take care of yourself.

  5. Chuck says:

    Lee,

    I just saw this post. How are you doing now?