For the Lord is God, and he created the heavens and the earth and put everything in place.  He made the world to be lived in, not to be a place of empty chaos. 

“I am the LORD,” he says, “And there is no other.”

“I publicly proclaim bold promises.  I do not whisper obscurities in some dark corner.  I would not have told the people of Israel to seek me if I could not be found.  I, the LORD speak only what is true and declare only what is right.”  (Isaiah 45:18-19, NLT

Evaluating a past year is a matter of perspective.  2007 is winding down, it is the past, and it is part of experience.  I am spending the last few hours of it as I usually do, watching a bowl game and drinking fluids, taking Advil and trying to keep the symptoms of a winter cold from getting too bad. 

In looking at a new year, there are several things that are on my mind, not the least of which is my own ministry in the church I currently serve.  There are some things I would like to accomplish during this next year, during which February will mark my second anniversary, and June will mark the anniversary of my second year of full time service.  I believe they are things that God desires to see accomplished, in a ministry that is largely one of equipping the saints, and encouraging believers in their ministries.  At a point where I am now comfortable in the position, and familiar with the people of the church and the way things are done, I can begin a new year with a positive attitude.

I’m not even going to begin to predict what will happen during the next year.  I’m pretty excited about being 14-5 on the college bowl season so far, so I won’t press my luck.  Let’s keep it on safe ground by saying there will be change in 2008, it is inevitible, and we need to be ready for whatever comes. 

The verse I posted here from Isaiah is a good one for a new year.  God speaks the truth and declares what is right.  He is in control.  He has equipped us to live in this world under any circumstances that may come our way.  So we can face each new year with confidence.  God is in control.

Happy New Year. 

About LS

I'm 56, happily married for 25 years, B.A., M.A., career educator with experience in education as a teacher and administrator, native Arizonan living in Pennsylvania, working on a PhD and a big fan of the Arizona Wildcats, mainly in football and basketball.

Comments are closed.