Joe Bethancourt – Benson Arizona

 Written by Bill Taylor and John Carpenter

I recently discovered this on youtube.  It’s kind of a folk song, of sorts.  Mainly it is about leaving someone you .love, but it gives me just a slight touch of homesickness.  It’s the kind of music, and the kind of song, you’d probably write about Benson, Arizona. 

“Benson, Arizona, the warm wind in your hair, my body flies the galaxies, my heart longs to be there…”

Well, that last phrase expresses my sentiments exactly. 

Benson was a great place to grow up.  It was a small town, bypassed by I-10, and the most exciting things to do in town were high school football games in the fall, school dances, the fireworks and parade on the Fourth of July, the rodeo, and taking a date to the theater downtown and afterward to the A&W Root Beer Drive-In.  Its location on I-10 35 miles east of Tucson and 25 miles north of Ft. Huachuca put it in position to capture some of the dynamic growth taking place in Arizona, so it has changed and now has an assortment of fast food places and Wal Mart, which were not there when I was growing up.  It has become an excellent place to retire, and while I never thought I’d retire in my hometown, the thirty years I’ve lived elsewhere have given me a strong desire to go back. 

Benson, Arizona,  the same stars in the sky.  They seemed so much kinder when we watched them you and I.

I’ll be back,  Lord willing.

About LS

I'm 56, happily married for 25 years, B.A., M.A., career educator with experience in education as a teacher and administrator, native Arizonan living in Pennsylvania, working on a PhD and a big fan of the Arizona Wildcats, mainly in football and basketball.

3 responses

  1. Jack Matthews says:

    I grew up in Beckley, West Virginia. Sounds like the same place!

  2. Bill Taylor says:

    I wrote the original lyrics to “Benson Arizona” in 1974 and have been delighted to see the song survive in spite of its obscure origins. John Carpenter and I would very much appreciate a credit as the songwriters.

    Best,

    Bill Taylor ASC

  3. spiritualsamurai says:

    I kind of partial to Payson myself. Spent three years there (4-6 grade). Arizona would be my choice after Texas.