When there is a lot of discussion in a group, and you are using a dated curriculum for Bible study, you can easily get off the schedule.  A writer somewhere put the scripture verses and themes into nice, hour sized bits and arranged it so that when particular holidays come around, you can study something related to the holiday.

So Thanksgiving is approaching, but the Bible study topic is going to focus on Colossians 2.  My usual approach, in a situation like this, is to continue with the systematic study of the scripture and ignore the holiday.  But as I continued to study this morning, the thought of finding something in the text to relate to Thanksgiving kept persisting.  Is it just a neuron pathway that I created by thinking about it so much? 

And there it was.

So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught and overflowing with thankfulness. Colossians 2:6, NIV

I can make a long list of things to be thankful for. The church staff position which came as an answer to prayer, after long months of prayer seeking God’s will, compared to what I was doing last year at this time to earn a living, is enough to symbolically overflow my thanksgiving beyond any recent experience I have had. And of course, a roof over my head, a car that still runs, food, a wonderful wife, all of that, which sometimes sounds routine and mundane, are things for which I am extremely thankful. That won’t pass without notice this season.

However, just a couple verses down in the scripture text in Colossians is something that, as a former pastor of mine would say, should ring your clapper, and if it doesn’t your bell is broken.

For in Christ all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form, and you have been given fullness in Christ, who is the head over every power and authority. Colossians 2:9, NIV

Think about that the next time you get stressed about denominational conventions or the results of an election a few weeks before Thanksgiving arrives.

About LS

I'm 56, happily married for 25 years, B.A., M.A., career educator with experience in education as a teacher and administrator, native Arizonan living in Pennsylvania, working on a PhD and a big fan of the Arizona Wildcats, mainly in football and basketball.

3 responses

  1. jasonk says:

    Colossians was always a favorite of mine, and you explained why in your post. We can sure get off track in life when we lose sight of the gifts we have been given.
    I’m curious about what you were doing for a living one year ago.
    Thanks for another great post!

  2. lees1975 says:

    Well, after 14 years in private, Christian schools as a teacher, department chair and administrator, seeing tuition and fees to attend soar, and our clientele become increasingly affluent (and snotty) I got tired of putting up with the griping and complaining, and feeling more and more like the difference between my paycheck and that of my public school colleagues was nothing more than a subsidy to keep the tuition for the wealthy as low as possible. So I took a job teaching social studies at an alternative public high school where I was given a classroom set of textbooks, a computer and a whiteboard, and told to help as many kids as I could pass the TAKS test. It was suggested that 50% passing would be considered remarkable success, 40% acceptable. With 35 students per class, 50% was close to impossible, especially without administrative support.

    With a seminary degree and previous experience, and education serving as my “backup” career, I took the circumstances to mean that perhaps God was telling me that my 14 year ministry hiatus was coming to an end and he still had plans for me in that regard to which I needed to pay attention. He did.

  3. jasonk says:

    I was trying to come up with some good sarcasm but often sarcasm doesn’t come across real well. So I’ll just say well done! My ministry hiatus is going on six years now, and so far I have not, nor do I anticipate I will, sense that it will come to an end. And for that, I am truly thankful. So we both have much to be thankful for!